I'm not lazy, but I am confused

So there is a LOT out there on reloading, and I am brand new to the game. I have been saving brass, mainly am interested in 9mm and 38/357. Saw some boxes of bullets available in the store today so I just went for them. Powder is also becoming available in my area so I am hoping to get some of that soon too just to start assembling everything I will need to start the process, just dipping my toes in the water. Still need dies (hard to find), a hand press (easy to find) and primers (impossible to find). So I am taking it slow.

I heave read a ton on different powders, but there is so much science and precision involved I am hoping to cut through some of the fat with others' personal experience. Anyone have a favorite powder (or two or three) for 9mm and/or 38/357? And for primers, not that they are available, am I correct in that small pistol are appropriate for both of those calibers? Again, not lazy...I have done a lot of reading...just confused as there is so much out there. Thanks in advance for any guidance!

Re: I'm not lazy, but I am confused

Usually folks use different powders for 9mm vs 38/357.

For the revolver rounds I use Hodgdon HP-38 or Winchester 231, the same powder sold under different brand names.

I’m using Ramshot Silhouette for my 9mm and .45acp loads.

Small pistol primer for most handgun rounds. 45acp uses large pistol primers (although the odd 45acp case does employ small p-primers).
Last edited by Bisbee on Thu May 06, 2021 4:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
"It is better to be violent, if there is violence in our hearts, than to put on the cloak of non-violence to cover impotence. There is hope for a violent man to become non-violent. There is no such hope for the impotent." -Gandhi