Hello from John's Creek, Georgia

:newhere:

Hello all,

I am new to gun ownership and I am still in my research phase.

I still have mixed feelings on the generally relaxed firearm ownership laws in our country, but I am looking to purchase a weapon and train seriously for self defence purposes only.

I believe that the threat of right wing terrorism is very real - it is foolish to think guns are going to go away soon, if at all they ever do.

As such, I am looking for general purchase advice for novices and also if there are any instructors in and around my area.

Very cool to see a community like this exists!

Re: Hello from John's Creek, Georgia

:welcome:
i lived for a couple of years in may-retta, then woodstock, then nelson.
new shooter?
think about what you want the gun for, rifle, handgun, shotgun; home defense, hunting, target shooting...
handle every gun you can.
shoot every gun you can.
like goldilocks and the three bears, not too big, not to small, just right.
buy the one that meets your needs and feels right. yes, it's about your comfort level. you may end up with several.
be safe, have fun!
i'm retired. what's your excuse?

Welcome home. Pull up a stump and set a spell. Can't help on Fulton County specific info but GA DNR has a whole bunch of shooting ranges now that are well worth checking out. There are quite a few up just above you.
To be vintage it must be older than me!
The next gun I buy will be the next to last gun I ever buy. PROMISE!
jim

Hi from NJ. Not sure where John's Creek is, but my wife's mom and brother both live in the Roswell area.

Yeah, try everything you can.
If it doesn't feel right to you, don't buy it, no matter what anyone says.

Soon or later, someone will say "Get a 1911" and someone else will say "Get a CZ". But...if it doesn't feel right, don't.
"Even if the bee could explain to the fly why pollen is better than shit, the fly could never understand."

For self defense you can start with a pistol.