Hello from St. Johns, Oregon

Greetings, brothers and sisters,

I am certainly not new to guns, but I am new to gun clubs. After years of the fear of being outed as a gun owner to my progressive friends, I am embracing my identity as a Progressive Gun Owner. I am hoping to connect with fellow travelers in Portland and perhaps shoot and attend gun shows as a Liberal bloc. I am very tired of enduring the macho right-wing histrionics alone and in silence. I look forward to meeting you all here and in person! Arm the Left!

All the best,
The Rev.

Re: Hello from St. Johns, Oregon

Huckleberry,

At the moment, I only own revolvers. I have a Ruger .357 GP100, a couple of old-school Smith Bodyguard .38's and a Ruger .45 Blackhawk. I've been considering picking up a .9mm semi to save money on ammo and simply to be more well-rounded as a shooter. I'm actually considering a .9mm 1911, as I am drawn to that classic design. I once owned a .45 1911, but, as I am generally a fan of the double-action trigger, I found that I was a bit freaked-out by the cocked-and-locked thing. I think I might be ready to revisit this style, though...

Thanks,
The Rev.

Howdy from Houston! :welcome:
You will definitely have friends around here with that Revolver collection of yours.
I to am not a fan of "Cock and Lock", that said, I am also not a fan of "Striker Fire."
Nothing beats a good old double action.
Admittedly though, I do own a couple of each. Just because you don't care for something doesn't mean it's not fun to own or shoot.
Never confuse knowledge with intelligence.

Hey Rev!

Welcome from Gettysburg!

Let me be the first to suggest you look at a CZ 75 or one of its variants or clones. SA/DA, great ergonomics, good capacity, great value for the $$ and lots of advice from the CZ fanboys and fangirls around here.

Also, lots of Portandiers (Portlandites?) around here who should be waking up soon...

Tell it, brother!